

CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

Provisional Voting Manual

July 13, 2010

This iteration of the manual started in 2007 with an expected completion date in early 2008. So much for expectations. It is the culmination of many meetings, countless emails, and the dedication and hard work (and hard thinking) that are the hallmarks of our profession. The cochairs particularly thank the regular contributors who stayed with the course much longer than anticipated:

Candy Lopez, Contra Costa County
Cyndi Helton, Stanislaus County
Cy Rickards, Secretary of State, retired
Dorothy Scates, Los Angeles County
Elaine Ginnold, Marin County
Elma Rosas, Santa Clara County
Gail Smith, Nevada County
Gina McFeely, San Diego County
Heather Frisella, Monterey County
Janice Atkinson, Sonoma County
Jeremy A. Howell, Stanislaus County

Kammi Foote, Inyo County
Karen Rhea, Kern County
Katherine Reedy, Orange County
Maggy Smith, Santa Clara County
Maria Alvarado, San Diego County
Martin Cobos, Ventura County
Narda Garcia, San Mateo County
Norma Westbrook, San Diego County
Ryan Ronco, Placer County
Steve Weir, Contra Costa County
Tracy Saucedo, Ventura County

Respectfully submitted to the membership:

Diane Jones, Sacramento County Lindsey McWilliams, Solano County Provisional Committee Co-Chairs

Note: These suggested practices have not been formally adopted by the Association. Although these are suggested practices, the CACEO recognizes that counties may not fully agree with each of the decision points outlined. Final determination is at the discretion of each Registrar/County Clerk and it is suggested counties consult with their respective counsel.